Castle by the Sea (formerly appeared on the blog One Good Paragraph)

Take me straight to the ghosts. They’re here — you know, I know it, they know it. Past the black iron National Trust fencing, past the politely informative signs, full of 13th century this and geologic that. I’ll even smile cordially at my fellow tourists in their Barbour jackets and tartan scarves, tied up against the drizzle. But when they leave, I’m staying, looking out the laird’s rock-face window over the grassy cliffside that ramps to the sea. Who is coming? Whose ships will emerge in the dusk over the horizon to wait offshore until just before dawn, what Dane, which Geat, who will invade? And when I turn to my left in the sea-wave quiet of the near dark, I want to see the hazy outline of the ether of The Laird, full yet misty in leather jerkin, beard and carbuncle, eyes set with purpose under a shelving, worried brow. I want to be scared and upticked and excited. I want him to nod to me and turn and float away. See to your troops, sergeant. Take me straight to the ghosts. — Adam Barr

3 thoughts on “Castle by the Sea (formerly appeared on the blog One Good Paragraph)

  1. Mike Kula says:

    Whan that aprill with his shoures soote
    The droghte of march hath perced to the roote…

    The first two lines of the Canterbury Tales as written and read in Middle English. These two lines come to me when I think of castles and moors and foggy crags. I have no other reason to have this knowledge or such a fond memory of these two peculiar lines than Mrs. Reilly, my British Literature teacher for my junior year of high school. Mrs. Reilly was able to open up a whole new world to me in this class. And when she read these two lines, in Middle English, I was hooked. Thank you Mrs. Reilly wherever you are!

  2. adambarr1106 says:

    Well done, Mrs. Reilly. And Kuler. And Chaucer. Some day when we all get together, first pint of good October brewing is on me.

  3. […] Click here for my post on the predecessor of this blog on Tantallon Castle, another fascinating East Lothian landmark. […]

Leave a Reply

