The Lead (formerly appeared on the blog One Good Paragraph)

You feel the lightning bolt go up from your heel. The decision to go, to go go go, to keep up with the bolt: you never can, for as soon as you go, you feel out. You feel out already, no matter how well you banish hesitation, no matter how good a jump. Oh God I am so out. Ninety feet my ass. I gotta haul ass now, punch punch punch pound pound pound pump pump. It feels like forever and just a few strides all at the same time. And then the jump-sit, and flight, glorious flight with the leg folding and the toe reaching and arms going back. Into your left eye, flying in like an annoying insect, the ball: surely it’s caught and you’ll be tagged like a three-time-reduced last-season purse at Macy’s BANG! You land on your buttleg, with the cool grainy dirt explosion and whiplash teeth chatter, well damn you Newton anyway. And as the ball skitters away, you smile, spit and call time. — Adam Barr

3 thoughts on “The Lead (formerly appeared on the blog One Good Paragraph)

  1. Dave Andrews says:

    You brought me back to my youth. I can almost feel the “strawberry” (as we called them) on my right hip from too many deep slides into second base.

  2. Gary Prisby says:

    Adam,
    What a welcome escape.
    The imagery of these posts is brilliant.
    Looking forward to more . . .

  3. Lisa says:

    I am not a baseball player, but I felt like I was there, just for a minute!

Leave a Reply

