Get Down in the Grass

I have my son to thank for this one. He understands how hard it is to get up and get ready for 7 a.m. Mass on Sundays. But he also understands the payoff.

“You have the whole day spread out in front of you,” he says. “It’s like Sunday plus.”

He’s right. Even after a fairly elaborate post-church breakfast (it’s Sunday, that’s why), and clean-up, there’s time for a couple chores. Today, it was the wet and messy job of cleaning the pool filter and maintaining the finicky pump, then hanging a huge picture in the eating area off the kitchen. But once all that was done, there was still plenty of Sunday left.

Time to take a breath and do some of those things you don’t ordinarily have time for. Walking around the garden, still damp from where the pool pump exhaust valve spritzed me as I closed it down, I let the sun warm me. On an impulse, I decided to drop to flower level with my camera.♦

© 2013 Adam Barr

Photographs by Adam Barr

My wife's amaryllis is really happy in this weather. Four separate blossoms, like a botanical tornado alarm.

My wife’s amaryllis is really happy in this weather. Four separate blossoms, like a botanical tornado alarm.

Believe it or not, we're expecting more of these as daytime temperatures hit the mid-80s F this week.

Believe it or not, we’re expecting more of these as daytime temperatures hit the mid-80s F this week.

Be...very...still. Don't...sneeze...

Be…very…still. Don’t…sneeze…

I can't resist the African irises, which are at their peak right now.

I can’t resist the African irises, which are at their peak right now.

This species, doofus canis, hunts in the bushes for lizards to terrorize...

This species, Canis doofimus, hunts in the bushes for lizards to terrorize…

...until he sees me.

…until he sees me.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Get Down in the Grass

  1. Adrienne says:

    I can now close my eyes & visualize Spring…Thank you for that because there is still 10″ of nasty snow on the ground here in Boston!

  2. Susan says:

    Angus really does look like a plant there.

Leave a Reply

