Cameras and Vacations: Memory Framing

Every mind is different. Some need wide, postcard-y vistas to properly memorialize good travel. Not me. Although I like a tasty panorama or two or four, I like most of my vacation pics to be unusual looks and angles. Sure, I may break some composition rules. But I have two rules of my own: first, don’t take too many pictures. Second, make the ones you take distinctive and edgy. Take some chances. I’ve found this triggers more memories than one bland photo can manage.

Some examples from a day in Florence follow.♦

This shot of the Duomo's dome, hard against the wall, combines curves and straight lines in a way I like.

This shot of the Duomo’s dome, hard against the wall, combines curves and straight lines in a way I like.

Same for this one, but the effect is more dramatic. I like how the lower roofline draws the eye down and in, under the round window.

Same for this one, but more dramatic. The lower roofline draws the eye down and in, under the round inset window.

I've always liked doors and the details above and around them.

I’ve always liked doors and the details above and around them.

More above-door statuary

More above-door statuary

Detail of the Duomo ceiling. Sometimes the interior painting and decoration is so overwhelming, I just give up and choose a detail. I don't want to be snapping away the whole time; I want to experience the atmosphere and remember it later.

Detail of the Duomo ceiling. Sometimes the interior painting and decoration is so overwhelming, I just give up and choose a detail. I don’t want to snap away the whole time; I want to experience the atmosphere and remember it later.

One of my favorite shots. Walk down the Via Ricasoli from the Galleria dell'Academmia, the museum that houses Michelangelo's David, and this is what you see as you reach the Duomo.

One of my favorite shots. Walk down the Via Ricasoli from the Galleria dell’Accademia, the museum that houses Michelangelo’s David, and this is what you see as you reach the Duomo.

Can't forget the people: Joseph and Teresa survey the Duomo ceiling...

Can’t forget the people: Joseph and Teresa survey the Duomo ceiling (I brought compact binoculars)…

...and our niece Margaret and her husband Trevor break for gelato -- really good gelato -- on the Via Ricasoli just before it opens onto the Duomo's piazza.

…and our niece Margaret and her husband Trevor break for gelato — really good gelato — on the Via Ricasoli just before it opens onto the Duomo’s piazza.

 

© 2013 Adam Barr

Photographs by Adam Barr

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

